Frustrated

Please don’t take this as whining, I love my unis, and enjoy them thouroughly. The problem is, I’m not making a ton of progress. On Muni and my 36er, I do ok, but on my 20, I can’t land diddly squat.
list of things I’ve worked on but cant land-
wheelwalk
SIF
Pedal grab
Crank grab to rubber
unispin
crankflip
any height on my hops
etc etc…
I’ve been riding for around two years :thinking: Could the fact that its a Sun be holding me back? has anyone else had issues?

The unicycle could possibly be holding you back, but maybe not in the way you may think. I know for me that when I upgraded from the square taper Nimbus that I had to a KH it was a humongous confidence booster. The uni was pretty much the same device, but I felt so much more at ease trying harder things on it. Don’t get me wrong I’m still no pro. I can crankflip, 1spin, 3spin, hop up a 4 (5 on a good day) set, wheel walk, etc. I don’t have any super complicated rolls, or major sidehop or tech tricks. But with my old uni, even the stuff that I began picking up soon after getting the KH seemed impossible.

If I were you I’d consider upgrading your uni, and then picking one or two tricks to work on at a time. Be sure to break each down and take it slow. Oh, and consider making a list of the things you can do, even down to simple things like idling and freemounting. That was also a big confidence booster for me.

Hope I helped a little,
Max

Maybe try doing those same tricks on the MUni if you are more comfortable on that wheel.

Also giving the tricks a break and just riding for a few months can remove some mental blocks.

I focused on rolling hops, riding backwards and idling for quite a while and got nowhere. Gave up and a few months later when I tried doing them I was able to without too much difficulty.

you may be trying too hard.

practice, practice, practice, but don’t try too hard :stuck_out_tongue: