Fresh unicyclist from finland

Hello!

I’m 26 years old EE student, and I got hooked into unicycling about week ago. Had to take break due flue, but got back in saddle today. So, my training has just started.
Bike is 20" basic model, which already needed new set of pedals, since original, plastic ones broke.
Currently, in training, I’m slowly building way out of support, only gotten few meters so far until losing balance, due losing speed too much. I’m thinking of using walking sticks to train.

Also, I’m not sure about tire pressure, since I noticed I lose control more easily now when I started using nomila pressure of tire (40PSI), when before it was close to 4PSI. I’ve used in normal bike hard pressures mostly, but things seem to be different in this aspect too.

And as like title says, I’m from finland, not that many unicyclists here.

Hi Fezder, welcome to the forum! I am fairly new to unicycling, too. I would advise against using walking sticks to learn, as they might turn into impalement sticks pretty easily. For me, it was easier learning to ride (slightly) downhill, but that might not give the best sense of control when learning, either. I think you’ll find after a few meters, you’ll be able to catch on really quickly; the trick for riding any distance for me, was figuring out the right weight proportions to put on the seat vs the pedals.