Freemounting the 29er

Hi anyone who is the slightest bit interested.

I have recently been struggling to freemount my 29er (since I put 125 cranks on her). I think (tentatively) that I’ve cracked it.

(I do the rollback mount).

The trick seems to be to put my right foot on the pedal with the toes pointing outwards. This seems to give it more of a steady rollback. It’s then cruicial to put second foot firmly full onto the pedal to get a firm roll forward. And wahoo, I’m off.

Sorry if I’ve bored anyone.

Cathy

I guess whatever works for you is good. I started riding my 29er a few months back and now I don’t miss too many freemounts. I too have 125 cranks. At first it was a real challenge but like anything else related to this sport, it gets better the more you do it.

At least you are freemounting.

I almost never use a roll back. I do a static with a slight forwards push. Also, if you lean the unicycle slightly sideways, then the force of your leap into the saddle is diagonal, wich somehow makes it easier.

Surprisingly, short cranks make mounting easier on big wheels - if you use a static mount.

I remember how weird and awkward it was the first time I tried to freemount my 28" (coming up from a 20"). Keep working on it, and with time you won’t think twice about freemounting it.

I guess its a smaller jump to the forward pedal.

Maybe this is because longer cranks have more torque so they are more tempermental with preasure which can cause them to roll from a static horizontal position easier.

Curious–I have found quite the opposite. With shorter cranks I find it distinctly harder to mount. Shorter cranks mean you have to jump up higher, and then you have less torque to help you deal with any imperfections in your jump.

Mind you, my experience is with a 36" wheel, so maybe the extra jump height isn’t as critical on a 29".

I’m with you on the static mount though. Roll back is fine on small wheels, but static or rolling mount really wins out on big wheels.