Exhaused Four Hundred Feet

My age is 54 and I started learning 11 days ago. I practiced for 9 days (or 9 hours) as it rained two days. I do not seem to be picking this up as fast as most.

I do not being able to do the mailbox mount, as I need a wall, car, fence to steady myself before I can ride off, however this is working it self out.

The question is after I ride about four to five hundred feet I am totally exhausted and every thing start deteriorate from there. Is that normal for a beginner, or am doing some wrong? It would take a lot less effort to walk the same distance.

Perhaps more time in the saddle will cure all.

Thanks

That is perfectly normal and don’t be discouraged, plenty of (younger even) people take longer than 9 days to get that far. Keep it up, you seem to be doing very well.

That is absolutely normal. When you are learning your legs are tense. Your legs are fighting each other to try to control the unicycle. That makes for a lot of work and very inefficient riding.

Once you learn and get better you’ll be able to pedal with your legs relaxed. It will be much easier and take much less effort. It will be just like walking the same distance.

For now think about keeping your weight on the seat and relaxing the legs. The seat should be supporting your weight and not your legs. Also make sure your saddle is high enough. A low saddle height will be harder on your legs. The saddle should be high enough that your leg only has a slight bend at the knee when at the bottom of the pedal stroke, just like how you would set the saddle height for a road bike.

Keep track of your practice time and how long it takes you to learn the basics. Klaas Bil, our resident statistician, will find your 54 year old data point to be very interesting.

It took me longer then that to go 4-5 hundred feet when I was twelve.