dropping the right way

Ive been doing some trials unicycling for a couple of months now and my drops are growing to four/five feet. Id really like to know if there`s a right way of doing high drops so the uni can suffer less as possibble. also, does anyone know how high the qu-ax splined can drop from?

I have taken six feet drops with mine, just roll out nicely. That’s all I know about dropping.

Take it easy, don’t drop only to get a higher “personal best”, it’s only stupid and will hurt you as well as your unicycle…

To spare your uni, drop seat out, land with bent legs and take the fall softly, roll out if possible, land with a little more force on the front pedal, and you will roll a bit…

This is pretty much the bulk of what I use for trials riding. Good advice!

Dropping seat out has a lot of advantages. Not the least being that it saves some of your softer tissue from harm too :wink: It also allows a lot of ‘flow’ in your trials lines, doing everything seat out. The Qu-ax can take lots of abuse, I’ve still managed to make the rim all oval due to abuse. Got a nice 48 spoke Alexrim now though. (Many thanks again to municycle.com).

Edit:

I completly agree with the “don’t drop just for the drop” bit, the drop for me has to be a functional part of a trials line, or an ending to a trials line.

I disagree, dropping seat in is easier on you and your unicycle.

You do not land on your saddle, that would hurt, when seat in, you can’t bend your legs as much.
That means the force will be applied over shorter period of time, meaning more tourqe the hub and cranksarms need to handle.

Seat out is definitally easier on you, you can bend your legs really low, instead of having to bend over your upper body. (Especially for me, I have a history of back problems). I’d also say it’s easier on your unicycle, but I can’t verify this ofcourse. My instincts say you can spread the impact out MUCH more.