Downhill Time Trials on Unicycle

I’ve been unicycling for 6 years and riding trails for about 4 years, but it has recently become far more interesting now that I’m riding a trail consistently and tracking my progress. A group of people from work hike up and down Mt. McCoy in Simi Valley, CA weekly, so I join them with my unicycle and ride down the switchback descent The trail drops 520 feet in 1.4 miles, so while it’s not very steep, the switchbacks have small radii and are quite challenging to ride through.

After 14 logged runs (20 total?), I’ve finally managed to descend the trail without falling off. Previously I had fallen off between 1 to 20 times, either on a switchback or on a rocky area on one of the traverses. I’ve been logging GPS during my rides and posting the results to Strava, which then computes my segment time.

Here is helmet-cam video from one of the descents several months ago:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K_hB95lF4kE

The first attachment shows a plot of my descent times, which mostly improve with each run by several seconds. The difference between runs 13 and 14 (latest descent) is over a minute and is my biggest gradient. My average speed on run 14 was 5.7MPH, so there’s definitely margin for faster descents, although it would be very challenging to descend in less than 10 minutes.

The second attachment shows the number of times I fell off the unicycle versus run. I’m super-happy that run 14 shows 0 falls, even if some of the early runs show a bunch of time spent off the saddle. I try to standardize the effect of falls on my descent time, so if I bail off, I backtrack briefly to repeat the segment - usually successfully. If I fall a second time at the same spot, I’ll start from just past it and continue on. This way I penalize falls a bit but don’t let myself get stuck on the trail.

The final attachment shows the GPS track overlayed on Google Earth, which frankly doesn’t fall on the satellite view of the trail very well.