Do I learn to ride backward or idle first

Hy I’m new to unicycling been doing it for about a month and want to start learning other basic things besides just riding but I’m not sure where to start any help would be appreciated

Idling seems like it would be the first step to riding backwards so I’d learn that first. Plus it’s useful if you’re riding around other people.

I say this as someone who has been riding for a few years but so far has been too lazy to learn either of those skills :roll_eyes: .

Thx

Thx

Idling is a really useful skill in day to day riding. Riding backwards is sometimes useful but is more of a personal satisfaction thing than practical.

Therefore, I’d recommend concentrating on idling first.

However, the two skills are closely linked.

A good half way house between idling and reversing is what is sometimes called the “super idle”:
Ride, stop without dismounting, do a half turn backwards, stop without dismounting, do a half turn forwards…

For ordinary idling, you do less than half a turn. You do all or most of the work with your bottom foot which moves from about 5 to 7 on the clock face. Try to keep your head still, your back straight, and let the uni move back and forth underneath you. It is important to look at a fixed point in the distance, especially while you are learning.

I’ve been working on my idling and slowly getting better.

What is it like when you can do it as long as like? Is all your weight in the seat? Right now most of my weight is in my right foot which is my dominant foot.