DM closing down

I just took a quick visit to DM Engineering to have a little look around and noticed that he is closing down. That’s unfortunate news. It may be old news in the UK, but it’s news to me over here.

DM made quality unicycles. His giraffes are top notch and so are his Ringmaster Advanced freestyle unicycles. DM was also the first to produce a splined hub. His DMATU unicycle was the start of an evolution. I have a DM Ringmaster Advanced freestyle unicycle and I love it to pieces. I also have a 26x3 DM Vortex which was quite the bomb back in the day. My Vortex is getting ignored now that I have a 24x3 KH Pro, but I still like that Vortex. A hardcore muni before the Profile hub was available.

Thanks Dave. I’m going to give my two DM’s some more love. So long and thanks for the fish.

Leo noticed a couple of weeks ago and posted about it here

No fair hiding that post about DM in a thread about UK bicycle repair shops. I never read that entire thread since I don’t have a great interest in UK bike repair.

Sigh. At least I managed to stumble on the news on my own. It is sad. I was thinking about getting a Ringmaster Advanced Custom eventually. I’ll have to nix that idea.

That’s a great pity. I never had a DM uni, and never intended to, but DM made custom bespoke unicycles of high quality, and many unicyclists aspired to own one one day. Alan (Arnold the aardvark) who used to post here had a DM ATU, and a stacked two-wheeler from DM - lovely bits of kit. Street entertainers and circus performers valued the robustness of the DM frame.

Is this another case of British industry, making a good solid product, but failing to move with the times? In a world of lightweight products (lightweight literally and metaphorically) DM made heavyweight stuff.

Re: DM closing down

Mikefule wrote:
> Is this another case of British industry, making a good solid product,
> but failing to move with the times? In a world of lightweight products