Distance training journal

Due to a fairly severe neck injury, I’ve been unable to ride at all over the last 3 months. I’m currently studying sports psychology though and as part of our final assessment we have to go through with a fitness plan. As such, I thought it would be a perfect time to hope back on my wheel and get active again. I’ll be keeping this thread to document my progress over the weeks.

Goal

My goal is 50km. I’ll do the first part of the route twice, then continue on to the 20km point and back.

Game plan

• Two 10km rides a week minimum (first route indicated above).
  • One timed, the other just a cruise
  • Progress into doing the circuit twice a day
  • Commute to university and back at least once a week (~5km one way)

Equipment

Nimbus 29" with 125mm cranks - pretty standard. I’d like to fashion a handlebar and try 114/100mm cranks, but I doubt I’ll get around to doing that before my big ride.

• I’ll update the rest as I go. Feel free to comment on anything :slight_smile:

First day - 10km in 0:51:09

I timed myself, and averaged 11kmph (factoring in a short break) which isn’t too bad since a long portion of the ride involves riding REALLY slow and dodging people as I go up a pretty steep hill (I’m still deciding if this challenge is fun or frustrating) - my usual speed is about 15kmph…but I’m hoping to push that up a bit.

I’ve also noticed an odd pain in my hip/pelvis joint on my left side which I hope goes away as I get back into riding…but I s’pose we’ll have to wait and see!

Day 2 - 3km not timed

Couldn’t do much but hobble around the next few days after my ride. That hip joint really didn’t seem to like the 10k! It flared up horrible afterwards.