Denver Area Muni Report

After a glorious morning riding at the “Lair O’ the Bear” open space park, I’ve decided to post my progress report on the front range muni I’ve done this summer and last since I started riding on trails.

The Colorado Trail at Buffalo Creek- Absolutely the smoothest trail I’ve ridden outside of a suburban bike path. This summer the Colorado Trail seems technically too easy although it is a great place to go when I want to ride for miles without a UPD.

Lair O’ the Bear - I always found this park just a little too small to justify taking my mountain bike there. On the Uni it has become a terrific park to climb until I collapse. This trail has more rocks and bumbs but is still technically moderate and very rideable for me.

White Ranch Park- Trails at White Ranch come in two varieties… too easy or darn near impossible.

Meyers Ranch- The best muni close to denver for my money. I’ve become addicted to challenging but seemingly possible climbs. This park has sustained climbing, technical descents and just enough smooth sections of trail to entice the rider into dangerous speeds. Oh… and the whole thing is in the shade of the forest.

Matthew Winters- I’ve ridden the large lower loop and the small loop just off the parking lot. This park is totally exposed to the sun but is technically challenging with enough sustained climbs that I usually walk a little funny the next day.

Technical trails seem a lot more fun to me this summer and I like the hairy downhills. I'm kind of a glutton for punishment, though, and I think my main goal is to become a more fluid, stronger climber. I would love to be able to hit any of the Open space parts in the foothills and ride the climbs without stopping. 

What a challenge!!! Even though people compliment me and remark about how difficult muni must be, I don’t think they have the first idea how fun and all consuming it is to hammer out a steep climb or flow down a technical descent.