Cyclepro? Any good?

I was wondering about the Cyclepro uni They have them here for $80. What do you guys think about this buy. I am new to this and want to get good direction to begin.

I wouldn’t pay for a cyclepro. They have “lollipop” bearing holders which means the part of the frame that accepts the wheel is a solid circle,

eventually these will crack and the frame is worthless unless welded back together.

A better unicycle uses bearing caps instead of a solid circle; the hub fits into the frame and then a cap secures it:

You can get a torker LX on ebay for 70 bucks and it is wayyy better in almost all respects so I would stay away from it.

+1

I was pretty much in your position last Sept… except I was on a 20 year hyatus from riding. I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to ride at all or if this were going to be something I’d like to keep doing…

I rolled the dice and bought the cyclepro. Although I wasn’t aware of the hub bearing config, I did know it was an ‘economy’ uni. My intent was to just learn to ride and cruise around, I figured the cyclepro would be enough to do the job.

What happened was, I totally got into the uni. I quickly learned lots of stuff I could never do as a kid; riding backwards, idleing, various mounts, hopping, and MUNI!!! eeep! I can honestly say, it’s BluntRM’s fault I started muni…:slight_smile: . Well not entirely, but partially. Thanks dude :sunglasses:

You may see where I’m going with this. My needs far exceeded what the cyclepro is designed to deliver. So, I’ve cracked the frame and last week snapped the square-tapered end of the hub off…

If your riding ends up just being riding, and not ‘doing stuff’ (like hopping, etc), the cyclepro ~may~ be OK for your needs. But, I’d take BluntRM’s and others advice, and get something with a better design… why not for the same dough…

Let us know what you decide…

good luck,
stevenj

No.