Customs into Canada

I’m up in Canada and want to order the Nimbus 29" with ISIS cranks. Anyways, I’ve read that the customs can be killer so I wanted to check it out. I just got off the phone with the customs guy and he said there is no cost in customs for items made within North America, and a 13% charge for items made without. He said you do have to pay gst when you recieve the product though, you can’t pay it beforehand. Thoughts? Are the custom costs simply gst and pst?

Customs cost

It’s not the customs duty that hurts, it’s the broker fee that UPS (or other delivery companies) charged. When I was a raw newbie (in September), before I new there were Canadian sellers of unicycles, I bought my first one from the USA. GST and PST were only $34.79, but the broker fee that UPS charged for doing the customs clearing was $50.00.
What a rip.

Buy Canadian.

Definitely wait until www.canadianunicycling.com starts its shop. I bought my KH20 from the UDC and was hit by a $125.26 charge upon recieving it. It would have been more worth my while getting it diectly from Bedford.

Customs from T7 handle

I ordered a T7 bar from UDC some months back.

The UPS service/customs was 42.00. Half the price of the bar.

Try to buy from Canadian supplier if possible.

Yeah order in Canada. Buy a Bedford 29" for $350. i love mine!

Isaac

Go Canadian

I bought a bedford 29". It now has 480 kilometers on.

Tough enough for me.

Try Darren Bedford if you want to order before christmas or try www.canadianunicycling.com.