Curb Mounting a 36

Is it a good step in the learning process of free mounting to back the wheel up against the curb? I’d like to learn to free mount, but I’ve spent my limited time just riding. Until recently I wasn’t 100% comfortable even riding away from a pole, no need to try to free mounting. I have actually made a couple of real free mounts in the grass of the soccer fields. It is pretty easy from the curb, I just didn’t want to get a bad habit going if it was going to make it harder later.

Would holding a brake while mounting make it easier? I grab the tire sometimes, I thought at first I would grab the tire to pull myself up, but actually I’m just holding the tire from rolling back, would holding a brake do the same thing?

Riding is more comfortable every time out. I’m SO glad I went ahead and made the early move to a 36. I just broke the 10mph barrier, it felt like a land speed record.

IMHO, I wouldn’t do that if I were you. I’m no coker expert but I think if you keep mounting against a curb you’ll never learn to freemount properly. Unless you rockback mount (not recomended) you need to learn to put as little pressure on your first leg as possible - you should be using your other leg to jump up.

Terry Peterson/Muniaddict/Unigeezer posted a great coker mounting video a little while ago which explains this technique a little better.

It’s a big jump getting up there, and it takes some practice to get any kind of mount to work consistently. There’s nothing wrong with grabbing the tire. If it works, then go with it. Learning the static mount is a good control drill, but it’s not mandatory.

I don’t know how well holding the brake works. Maybe you’ll just have to try it for a while and see. It would be good have a backup mount just in case you rolled through dog crap or something and you don’t want to touch the tire :p.