Crushed stone bikepath uni recommendation

Although I’m a beginner, it’s getting close to time to get my second uni, something well-suited to riding the local bikepaths. They’re crushed stone on dirt. Nothing steep.

I’m thinking a 29er would be a good fit. Comments?

The two 29er’s that show up most often in my web surfing are those from KH and UDC. I’m thinking that, as a beginner who intends to ride tame stuff, the awesomeness of the KH would be wasted on me. Therefore I should go with the UDC and save some money. Comments?

Some background: I’ve been learning on a Torker LX 20. Sounds like my rate of progress has been average. I’m just starting to do some freemounts. 180lbs, 32" inseam, 1 whiny knee.

Thanks for your comments.
Mark

Where are you located? I’m in Longmont. You can try my Nimbus 29’er sometime if you want. It sounds like it might be just the ticket for what you want to do. I have been thinking about a 36’er lately. If you don’t mind making a big jump up; the 36’er might be something to consider. I really like my 29’er. I ride it to work, and all around town. I have taken it on mild XC trails as well.

Don’t forget the torker ax 29", it is light weight aluminum and a good cycle. The seat is the weak point with the torkers but seat upgrades aren’t all that expensive or dificult to do yourself. The 29 is not to big to take camping or on airplane but has decent speed for distance riding.

I don’t think it’s very easy to find an AX 29. A while back (maybe a year ago) they sold them off really cheap, and I haven’t seen them in stock anywhere since. There is probably a holdout bike shop somewhere with old stock.

Torker still has it listed as a current product, so it might be available again at some point.