Crooken Line

Hey all,

Went for a ride a on some trails behind my house a couple of days ago. It’s important to note that I am a beginner on a 24" muni. I looked behind me, after falling off numerous times, and noticed that the line that I have been taking is not straight at all. You can see it clearly in the attache image.

Is that normal? Is is just because I am a beginner and I’m flopping all over the places? It almost feels like I’m twisting with every downstroke, but I can’t be 100% certain.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks all!

As a beginner you tend to ride less straight and it will improve over time, but nobody really rides in a straight line - there’s almost always a little bit of side to side sway.

I’m presuming you ride with both hands free too - once you learn to hold on with one hand you’ll likely find things straighten up a little.

1 Like

Beginners often go left and right. My feeling is when you figure out you need less downward pressure on pedals it straightens out. Takes time usually.

1 Like

Here’s a recent thread on the subject:

Yes, a crooked path is normal. Maybe a little more for a novice rider but the wheel and feet/pedals are not balanced and there will always be some wobble.

If you want to ride in a straight line, spend more time picking deliberate, but not necessarily straight, lines. Riding a straight path takes the same control as riding a crooked but deliberate path. Removing uneven pedal pressure from the equation will help straighten you out, but to ride a really straight line, that takes a lot of control. I have incorporated riding along 6" curbs into my practice sessions, and I twitch like mad to stay on the curb.

A temptation for novices is believing technique will fix itself once bad habits are removed. I wouldn’t worry about the crookedness, @unsingefou . Just keep practicing new skills, such as hands on the saddle, and your old problems will start disappearing. Good luck!

1 Like