crooked crank arms?

look, I’m probably just an idiot and that’s why I don’t know about these things. but please bear with me, I’m trying to learn. :wink:

I was riding my unicycle today and my foot somehow managed to slip off the pedal. I rode one-footed inadvertently (which was kind of cool, I’ve never done it before) for about one rotation, then fell off. when I picked up my unicycle, the one crank was off by about 10 degrees from where it should have been (so that the pedals were no longer straight across, but bent a bit). I tried searching for a fix, but I couldn’t find one, and I also am having trouble finding any diagrams of how unicycle cranks attach. (if anyone cares, I have a sun 26", pretty much the same as it came from the factory except with new pedals.) so I decided (probably unwisely) that, if it was banged into that position, banging it back would probably not hurt anything more than it already had been hurt. so I used a rubber mallet and slammed it back, and it’s in fine working order now (I bounced a bit on it and there was no movement). I’m just wondering if it’s still safe to ride, and what the correct way to fix it would have been. I’m thinking that something with the attachment mechanism was bent, and I just bent it back.

Hmmm, I would suggest getting a new hub, just in case. I have a Sun 20in. and it had a terribly twisted hub. At first I thought it was my crank, but it was part of my hub, so that might be your problem, is a twisted hub. I think it was just bunnyhopping off of a curb that bent it for me. You might have solved the problem by banging it back into place, but I’d get a new hub/crank for it, just in case.

Hope this helped

thanks. I’m a little short on cash, and my LBS doesn’t have much in the way of unicycles, but I’ll try to find a new hub when I’ve got the money. (I really ought to research the bike shops in my area. there might be a unicycle goldmine I don’t know about.)