Crank Strength..

Hi there guys, I’m relatively new to unicycling, well probably about 7-8 months in but I went on holidays to Japan shortly after getting it and got a little slack with learning again up until recently. To be fair I’d had riding and freemounting down pat for ages but I want to expand my skill set.

Not too long after I picked it up again, I started to learn bunnyhopping as I’d ridden a BMX when I was a bit younger (though having a car quashed that use a fair bit) and I found it fairly easy to pick up. However after a bunny-hopping session one time I started riding my unicycle around a bit and it felt really unusual and wonky… this was when I discovered that all my hopping around had bent the pedals and cranks down a little bit so intead of being in line it resembled more of a V shape if you looked at the side…

I was mortified, but I managed to fix it by swapping the way I had been hopping from right foot out front, to left foot out front, and just hopped until I bent them back. I afterwards took the cranks and all off and fine tuned it until it was all perfect, but I’m a little miffed that basically although I can bunny hop, if I do it I’m going to start bending my unicycle again…

I figured out a bit of a work-around for the time being, in that I learned to instead of just slowing down and then hopping, I slow down and hop so my feet lie across the cranks, as opposed to just on the pedals, and then start hopping. And whilst this is very easy to do from a standing start, it makes situations where I should just be able to slow down, bunny hop, then keep riding, a bit tougher as I need to shift my entire stance.

The cranks aren’t bending this way because my weight is ditributed much more evenly but I’d like to be able to do it the normal way.
So I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions?