Crank Problem

About a week ago, I started noticing a slight slip in my cranks. I stand in one place, preparing to ride/hop/anything and, my cranks will move a bit before my wheel does.

It’s a standard Torker DX 24". I’ve been basically, riding around town, hopping up and down curbs(nothing higher than 6"), and doing a little grassy hill off-roading. I tried to tighten every single bolt in the vicinity and it changed nothing.

The unicycle has only been ridden for about 2 1/2 months since purchased new. I do weigh a bit more than your average rider(230lbs).

I’m kinda new to the whole unicycling thing so, can anyone tell me why this is happening and how I can fix it?

I searched the archives and didn’t find anything that didn’t say, “buy a new unicycle”.

what is youre budget???

Maybe get some new cranks other than that I guess get a new Unicycle. maybe a nimbus 24 or something ?

Stop riding it imediately.

Loosen the cap bolt, remove the crank bolt, clean the threads of the axle and bolt w/ rubbing alcohol, put blue Loctite on the bolt and put it on torqued to 45 ft lbs. Then tighten the clamp bolt (I don’t know it’s max torque, but I’m guessing 25 ft lbs.).

If you don’t have a torque wrench tighten it w/ a normal 8 mm allen wrench as tight as you can. If this happens again, repeat this w/ a torque wrench (yours or have your LBS do it).

If it still loosens up you can try tightening it up to 60 ft lbs, but the head of the bolt may break off. And/or you could use red Loctight, be weary of this, since it’s “permanant” you may not ever get it off again.

If it still loosens up, you need new cranks and/or a new hub.

Missed deadline

I had my cranks at 65 ft lbs and still loosening up w/ red Locktight (I didn’t realize oil had leaked out of the bearings, getting on the threads and the Locktight wouldn’t work). Eventually the bolt’s head broke off. I fixed it at my Junior College’s Machine shop. It would have likely cost me $150 + to fix it elsewhere.