Crank hops vs. regular hops

are crank hops acctually nessesary for anything or is it justan easy way to get better ballance during normal hops. because i hop just as well on my pedals as on my cranks. i was just wondering if they serve any purpose.

(crank hop=standing on the cranks when hopping rather than the pedals)

I have never used a crank hop before…It just messes you up. and since you never see any trials riders, ever, hopping while on they’re cranks, it must not be very helpful.

ok thats what i thought.:slight_smile:

Just wait awhile, gerblefranklin or somebody will come in here with one million reasons why you shouldn’t use crank hops, etc. :slight_smile:

It’s good when you do seatdrop, or land a unispin…
other than that i can’t se any purpose at all with it :slight_smile:

One purpose is so that you can continue hopping after you accidentally land on the cranks. :wink:

Also, I imagine that some of the flatland tricks that involve standing on the cranks could be combined with a crank hop.

so they are useful for some applications but they arent a nessesary skill?

IMHO, hopping on your cranks should be reserved for freestyle moves only. If you hop on your cranks in the middle of a trials line, it should cost you a point.

Hi,

If you want not to hold your seat when hopping, you can squeeze the frame between your feet.
But as the cranks have no grip (unlike the pins of a pedal) it’s better to have the feet on the pedals so they don’t slide off when doing trial. And when on sharp objects you could need more angle and power that feet-on-the-cranks can’t allow you.

Manuel