Crank Grabs

I did a search and all I could find were techniques and all that, I’m wondering if crank/pedal grabbing is healthy for your unicycle.

It doesn’t seem good to do a fullweight jump on a piece of metal. How bad would learning to crankgrab be for my qu-ax trials uni? it’s got splined stuff and all that, but I’m not very technical, I leave that to my brother, and all he says is “Dont know” which doesn’t help me alot.

depends on what your grabbing.

wood and metal will not hurt you uni so much. rough concrete will be a little worse.

Dont worry about your uni though, it´s designed to take stuff like this.

If you’ve found nothing after searching that likely means there is nothing to find. I wouldn’t worry about it. “Everyone’s doing it.” As Fexnix said they are designed with that in mind. if you are really worried grab with the pedal (they are tougher), then go to crank, then up. it just means you won’t be landing on your crank hard. And when you want to learnd pedal grabs you’ll have part of it down.

Don’t worry at all, they’ll get marked up, but they are just marks.

David

You go through life and you choose. Do I want my trials uni to look brand new? Do I want to have fun? I picked fun and the cranks on my KH look like they were run over by a dump truck on a gravel road.

Iv done a 2 ft drop to my crank, nothing happened, Its scratched but who cares?!

Thanks guys, I’ll go for wood first though, just to be sure :stuck_out_tongue:

what exactly is a crankgrab?

e39m5

Here is a video of a crank grab.

You jump on to the side of an obstacal with your crank and pedal and then jump on to the top of it (going to rubber). A pedal grab is when you only use your pedal to do this.

crank grab is also usually seat in and pedal grab is seat out. both are useful and hard on the related parts. but then again a good splined crank will take that abuse and not bat an eye.