Complete Uni Newbie

Hello everyone!

I’m very new here and new to unicycling, so if I make any gaffs, I beg your understanding (feel free to let me know if I’m doing something wrong). Looking through the forum, this seemed like the best place to start.

I’m Razz and I’ve been sort of obsessed with getting a unicycle for the past several years. Unicycles have held a fascination for me since I was a little kid but I didn’t seriously think of them as a good bike alternative until I happened upon a Kernel book article written by a fellow blind person who frequently rode a uni. I’ve been putting it off but now that I’m a freelance artist and self-employed, I realize that I need to do something to keep fit and the only thing I really enjoyed in the past for exercise was biking. Biking stopped being a feasible mode of transport for me when I a) moved to the South (no sidewalks or bike paths) and b) traded in my folding cane for a superior long white cane. I could tandem bike but I’d much rather retain my independence. Plus, unis are cooool. :smiley:

I’ve been reading everything I can find about learning to ride and what sort of uni to purchase as a total newbie, but I’m still a little uncertain (and kind of overwhelmed :D). Money is tight and I can only afford to make this purchase once (well, at least for now; maybe once I learn more and make some money I can invest in another uni), so I want to make it count.