Commuting comparison

A bit of an experiment. Due to changes in car parking rules, I now have to park about 15-20 minutes’ walk away from the office. Since the Friday before Christmas, I have experimented with making this short commute by unicycle.

My background is 30 years of riding, but only a few years of that have been “serious”. My usual riding is either bridlepaths, footpaths and bike trails or country lanes. I’m 54 but fit for my age. I don’t have time to change or shower at the end of my commute, and I need to arrive looking reasonably smart, but it’s only an office job.

The route is mainly mixed cyclepath/footpath, with dozy pedestrians texting, and arrogant bicyclists treating them as slalom poles. As a pedestrian, I have been hit by cyclists 3 times in the last year - and I haven’t been texting! However, the route also includes a short stretch of busy 30 mph road and some crossings, with kerbs to negotiate. I do not do hops or drops.

KH29 muni with 150mm cranks. Easy to mount, safe to stop or idle for short periods in a crowded situation. Moves at a decent speed. Bumps up and down low kerbs safely. Fairly easy to get in the boot (US = trunk) of the car. Big enough and fast enough that on the whole it doesn’t provoke daft comments from passing kids.

28" skinny with 114mm cranks. Easy to mount, stop or idle, but a bit more twitchy when the path gets crowded. OK bumping down small kerbs but not up them. Good smooth ride. Fits easily in the boot. Big enough and fast enough not to provoke daft comments. A nice ride on the smooth.

26"x 2.3" Holy Roller with 125mm cranks. Good all round size. Very easy to mount, stop, idle. A bit slower. Copes better with low kerbs. Fits easily in the car boot. Doesn’t provoke comments.