Commuting and hips

I’ve got a question for you all, especially the old timers
I’m moving to a new place which means my daily commute will increase from 2x 3,5km to 2x 12km (test ride 45mins each way)

My worry is because I had calves perthes hip disease as a kid and therefore already starting to have (minor)signs of wear.
Will need replacement hip at 50 says the doctor, and recommends bicycling in low gear.
Would my 36’er be good enough?
Love unicycling and it’d be a cool commute
commute, but don’t want to wear out my hip faster than necessary

John

I’m no doctor, but running large cranks (150mm) and riding the KH fusion zero saddle, which is thinner than other saddles available would be the best setup if you’re paranoid. Though with shorter cranks, there is less leg movement, you won’t be pushing as hard with the larger cranks. Larger cranks would add time though.

Riding feel less strenuous on me than walking and definitely less than running.

it depends on the hills in your area too. If you didn’t have hills and wouldn’t be pushing hard up them, I would think you could run 110-125mm cranks, which really speeds up the commute, but when it gets hilly they take a lot more effort to climb with.

Again, no doctor.

36er is good for that distance, that’s exactly the distance of my commute.

I can’t really say much about the hip issues, as never had any issues there (only lower back and knee)…

But as JA said above, the 36 is great for this distance (my commute was 2x16km last year and now 2x14.5km).

I think the amount of pressure on the hips would depend mostly on your hills and your skill level, plus crank length and Q factor:

• more Q = more hip
  • shorter crank = more muscle force/pressure on the hip vs. longer crank = larger range of movement but less force

Or you can always do 1-2 days/week with the uni and the other days on the bike.