Coker crank size?

Hey Cokeurs!
My cadence sucks when I use the bigger cranks (except when MUni).
As a long time Cokeur of 5 years, I’ve had 170mm, 155mm, 120mm, and even 89mm! :astonished:
I am considering 140mm from unicyclecom for distance riding.

My Coker brothers(and sisters?),
I’m asking all you veterans 36" riders, what crank size do you ride in and why.
Thanks. :slight_smile:

I don’t know if I could say I’m a veteran Cokerer, but I’ll take a stab at this anyway. I’ve been riding my 36er for 2 years or so, and I have had 150, 140, and 125’s on it. I like the leverage from the 150’s and the smoother spinning of the 125’s. The 140’s seem to give me the best of both. I can freemount reliably, and I can climb hills without too much effort. My cruising speed is also steady at 11-12 mph, which hasn’t changed from the 125’s.

Since square taper cranks are fairly cheap it should be easy enough to test the waters. I found my first set of 140’s on an old kids 10spd bike. I sawed off the chainwheels and I was ready to go. I bought my current set so that I could mount a disc to the spider for a disc brake setup.

Actually, let me know if you want my old steel 140’s. I’ll send them to you for the cost of shipping.

I started out with 150/125 moments. I learned with the 150 setting and then moved to the 125. 150 is way too choppy at speed. I now have 125/110 moments, and the pedals have been in the 110 hole mostly. I like the speed and I can still climb some pretty steep hills. For muni, I would probably want to go back to 150. Riding with 110s on the 36 has trained me to run my 24 guni with 125s for muni.

Depends what riding you want to do. 125s are easy enough on the flat and smooth. 150s are versatile. 170s are a bit plodding.

On the whole, it is better to learn to spin longer cranks than to use shorter cranks in the pusruit of speed. That way, you get the best of both worlds.