Climbing: Efficiency of standing up vs crank length

Last couple of months I have been riding my 27.5 Muni with a road tire because a lot of tracks were too muddy to be any fun.
When I switched the tire I also changed the crank length from 136 to 110 mm to speed up my rides.
This is my first time riding such "short"cranks.
It took a little getting used too but soon I could comfortably ride with them. Even climbing is not too much of an issue.

But on the steeper slopes I noticed something :
WHen the going gets tough, standing up doesn’t seem to add much to the climbing ability.
But with the 136 cranks I can feel a clear benefit.
On the 24" there is also a difference between 125 and 145 mm cranks but there is still a big benefit when standing up.

With the longer cranks you really get the “stairmaster” experience and power your way up.
I don’t think it is really a gain* issue, to me it feels more like at 110 mm the stoke / steps are just getting too small to get extra benefit

What are your experiences?

Note: I’m not talking about a small / short incline than you just tackle at high speed and rely on momentum.

• ratio between crank length and wheel size

My guess is: Standing up helps the “strong” part of the stroke on long cranks but may create a weaker “weak” part of the stroke. Conversely, I feel like I am “spinning” the cranks more when I am not standing, when I am firmly anchored on the seat (and leveraged into place with two hands on the bar ends).

I think there’s some degree of momentum in most scenarios. Except for some of my riding conditions that are so bumpy, my wheel will come to a momentary stand-still. So, the choice of long vs. short cranks may be influenced by the “flowy”-ness of your riding conditions.