CHEST HIGH HANDLE FOR 36er.

Hi Everyone,
Long time reader, first time thread starter.
But I have not seen any info on this below.

I found a video of a 2 riders Dustin and Alexander from the Netherlands both using chest high 36er handles.
The best (but poor) detail that I have is this screen capture:

or you can see the whole video (not in English) at:

or an article in English with some translation of the video (but no comments about the handle)(Scroll towards bottom) at:

My questions: Is this an advantage :thinking: ?
Wouldn’t this make UPDs too dangerous :astonished: ?
Did I give away the Netherlands RTL secret weapon :smiley: ?
Who is going to make/try one and share :slight_smile: ?

Not me, Mark (Curbrider), in answer to the last question.
I am very new to 36 inch riding and still trying out my purple T7 handle. I’m not yet comfortable with high speed. My knees have a bit of pain so for now I ride with 170 mm cranks which helps in my case. I’m tall. And staying away from curb drops for now.
My goal is for some commuting to work 4 miles each way.
:slight_smile:

Huh… so that’s how aerobars work on a coker. I’ve always wondered how people were doing that. I like the setup but I think I’d adjust mine lower so I could put more weight on them.

It’s an interesting setup, and I like the fact it’s an upright style as that matches my prefered riding position. There are some folks I’ve seen–GizmoDuck and Unisk8er specifically–that prefer a much lower position. Possibly the lower position offers less wind resistance, but it isn’t a position I’m able to hold for long stretches of time.

But to your question on whether the bar would make UPDs too dangerous, I doubt it would be a factor. The main danger those boys face from a UPD is a head injury from their lack of helmets. Hopefully there’s a law against it in Nova Scotia, so they can be protected from their folly.

Same Wakeling, the 24 hour record holder, also favours a very high handle.