Can Air Pressure Make That Much Difference?

All,

This weekend, I went unicycling (I’m a newbie, still learning the basics). I went on Saturday and Sunday. I had been sick for about 2 weeks, so other than one brief outing on last Monday, it was my first time back to the unicycle in a while (more than 2 weeks).

On Saturday, I couldn’t do a thing. In the past I had been riding up to 70 feet sometimes, and I was learning a lot, but I spent 2-3 hours Saturday and I didn’t go more than 2 feet except on 2 occasions. It was frustrating. At the end of the day, I speculated that maybe my tire was low, because it did seem to be giving more than usual, but it was kinda of a “reaching for straws” explanation for myself.

The very next day (yesterday) I put 4 or 5 solid pumps of air in my tire, and I went out for a little over 2 hours, and I had a great day! I went about 70 feet about 30 times or so, I started from more different locations than my habitual mount points, I rode through grass, I powered through a 1-inch sloped crack/rise in the pavement a couple of times … it was a 100% reversal. Uncanny.

Can air pressure make that much of a difference, or is that not usually a factor?

Lewis

Lewis,
tire pressure can certainly have that much of on impact, especially with respect to controlability. You may have to experiment a bit (as you did) to find out what works best for you. The surface you ride on and your type of riding (rolling over obstacles/jumping etc.) will also influence what pressure is “best” (i.e. the best compromise). Check out
http://www.muniac.com/tips.htm#pressure
for a MUni specific tire pressure discussion by John Childs.
With just a little more experience you will adjust the pressure as needed (and/or expect your uni to behave differently with lower/higher pressures).
For unicycling, standard tires are not uncommonly overinflated to pressures 10% (to 50%!) beyond their max rated value.
Keep having fun.
Fred