bung knee from riding 170s

Hi,

Has anyone else given themselves sore knees from riding a 24" with a really low seat and 170 cranks? I had this pain for the first time last weekend and it’s been a problem for all my rides since. Duno how to describe it really except it’s not from any impact, it’s just when I use my right leg its pretty painful.

Can’t really notice the problem when I’m not riding except a bit when I’m going up or down stairs.

Any tips on how to get over it? It’s a bit worrying coz I’m only 23 and I shouldn’t be getting injured from doing nothing extreme. And I would’ve thought my body would be used to the cranks since I’ve been riding with them fairly consistently for 2 years now.

Pete

If you walk along the road with your knees bent, your legs will hurt, and you will eventually damage your knees.

Likewise, if you walk along the road on tip toe, with your knees locked straight, you will hurt your ankles and probably your hips.

If you walk normally, you won’t hurt anything unless you really overdo it.

Apply these principles to riding a cycle. 170 mm cranks are the same length as you would have on a touring bicycle. On a touring bicycle, you would put the saddle at the right height, so that your legs would be comfortably straight at the bottom of the pedal stroke. If you lowered the seat by another 2 or 3 inches, you would expect pedalling to become more difficult and less efficient, and eventually to make your legs ache.

You have identified the problem yourself: your seat is too low.

A low seat presents some advantages for certain skills; hops, drops, seat out etc. On the other hand, it forces you to pedal in an uncomfortable and inefficient manner.

You could deal with the problem by raising the seat to the proper height, or by compromising with shorter cranks, or by unicycling less.

If the seat is so low that your pedal stroke is uncomfrortable and inefficient, then you are not getting the full benefit of the long cranks anyway.