Building a 9 foot giraffe

I am NEW to the forums so I apologies if I am posting in the wrong place.
I have been riding Unicycles for 2 years and my friend let me ride his 6 foot unicycle and I was HOOKED on heights!
I want to build a homemade 9 foot giraffe but have NO clue what parts to buy, I will be welding it myself.

(I figured making it would be cheaper than having it custom made and I could always re-weld it to make it higher if I choose to do so)

Where should I start? What parts do I need?

I’d start by looking at unicycle.com’s giraffe parts section. It would also benefit you to use the search function and learn as much as possible about what makes a good giraffe. For example, know the difference between a track hub and a bolt-on hub.

It’s my opinion that Nimbus makes an excellent giraffe from top to bottom. Every part is well thought out. Read all the specs on their new one’s for a good start.

Good Luck!

Thank you sir, I have been doing some research.

Anybody else build a giraffe?

How much did it cost YOU?

Tall giraffes

I wonder if you plan on riding various terrain and any distance on your future giraffe? I’m asking because if you make a giraffe over 6 or 7 feet high, when you accidentally fall, or fall because you are learning a new trick or pushing the envelope, it could be very painful. When I have a UPD on my 6 footer I usually land on my feet and run it out, or sometimes tuck and roll as if I fell from a skateboard. Getting good at taking a fall comes in very handy. I don’t know your skill level, you may be an expert at all of this already, just trying to make useful suggestions.

I know what you mean about being hooked on giraffes, it’s still my favorite kind of uni, with my 36er quickly giving it a run for it’s money.

Definitely post some pics of your progress with your new build. Take it easy.

Just parking lots and streets.

I will definitely post pics of my progress when I begin to build it, need more money first.