Best 29-er for me?

I’m a newbie - I’ve been riding my 24" uni for just over a month and a half. I’m a distance cyclist, and I really want to get into distance uni riding. I’ve been reading the forums, and I think my next move is to buy a 29-er. I think a 36-er might be too much for me in my green state, but I’ll probably want to go there eventually.

I guess I’m looking for a 29-er that I can use to train up my big wheel skills, ride primarily on the road (and probably not too aggressively - I can’t imagine my almost-middle-aged self doing drops of more than a foot or two, ever), and maybe mess around in the dirt from time to time (again, more XC than hardcore).

I’m looking at three unis - the Nimbus w/Isis hub, the KH29XC, and the Pashley (just because it’s on sale at unicycle.com). I like the two-way cranks on the KH, but I doubt I need anything so heavy-duty (and, of course, I’d like to save the extra dough). I guess I’m leaning toward the Nimbus.

I’m a big guy, btw - 6’, 200 lbs - so anything too flimsy is definitely out.

Any advice? Any others that anyone would recommend?

TIA for the help.

sal

there is no need to buy an intermediary 29r. if you are thinking of a 36, get it! it’s like nothing else in the world…a 29 is just like a big 24

Eso es tristar.

True, and in your case it sounds like a 36er would fit you best. If you got a 29 you’d get used to it in a very short period of time, and then want a 36 (if you were only doing distance and light cross country) for more speed/faster cruising.

that really doesn’t mean anything if you really are only going off 1-2 foot drops, unless you want a unicycle made out of some kind of tree product(cardboard,wood, ect.

the coker is well suited for much more than ‘light cross country’

IMO only if you’re Uni-Geezer, or if you haven’t only just increased your wheel size by 12"

Just go there now.