Beginner needs a freestyle unicycle.

I got the chance to ride a 20" unicycle a couple of weeks ago and great time. I managed to pedal all over the parking lot and make some sloppy turns. I’m pretty enthused about getting one for myself so I need some advice.

Here’s my info if it helps at all:
I’m 6’,1" 180 lbs. and 28 years old. I’ve been riding freestyle bicycles for almost 18 years and I primarily ride flatland. I’m most interested in doing unicycle freestyle so would it make sense for me to go ahead and get a freestyle uni? If so- where can I find a reasonably priced one. Is there a place to find used ones? I’m not going to be hopping off of loading docks or anything so it doesn’t need to be super strong.

Also- I’ve had trouble finding a freestyle unicycle site on the internet. Any links?

I’m no stranger to riding on one wheel- Here are a couple of unicycle-ish tricks from my past. I hope you enjoy them and don’t laugh too hard at my haircut. It looks a lot less goofy now.

Geocities is not putting out… you might consider using the free hosting service that Gilby so kindly provides at Unicyclist.com.

On subject: check out the source, at www.unicycle.com.

BTW: Freestyle is the work of the devil; get a Coker.

Good luck,

Christopher

Take your mouse to

for all the unicycle shopping joy you can handle. If you want a cheap, starter, freestyle unicycle get a 20" Torker for about $75 but be prepared to upgrade the seat and the pedals. The Torker has a flat crown which is an important aid as a footrest for freestyle riding. I’m 6’2", 180# and just got one to learn to one foot ride. The saddle is sized for children but I had a spare Viscount saddle that I put on it. The pedal bearings are already going on mine after maybe 20 hours of use.

A Torker with the upgrades may cost close to the same as one of the low end SemCycles which is a much better unicycle for strength and durability.