Beginer's question : Road to muni?

I saw a video of moutain unicycling and immediately realized that was some thing I wanted to do. So I bought a unicycle and started learning recently.

It’s only my 2 weeks into unicycle and I still can’t ride yet, so this question might be a bit too early, but it doesn’t hurt to plan early :slight_smile:

Q1. What techniques are required to start muni? Hoping? Idling?
Q2. Which kind of unicycle should I use to practice those techniques? For size, should I practice on 19/20/24/26? For category, should I choose beginer, trail, or muni?

I know there is a long way to go, but I’ll get there some day, and your kind suggestions would be very appreciated.

Thanks
Lars

Hi Lars,
I started riding trails and some easier downhill slopes a few month after I started unicyling. So it is definitely not so far away if you really want it. From the technical side you don’t need so much. Hoping could be useful, but I would consider it as advanced.
However, reliable freemount would be good, at least if you are going alone. Beyond that my advise would be to get a Muni and start riding somewhere where it is not paved, some gravel and mud roads, later start with small slopes, up and downhill, you will see its lots of fun.

Hey Lars you sound like I did two months ago! As soon as I learned about muni I knew it was what I wanted to do with a unicycle. When I was looking to buy I went ahead and got a 26" muni. I’m not sure how your terrain is, but as a new rider there are still a lot of hills that are too hard for me to crank the 26" up. My advice is start with a 24" muni which should be easier to learn mounts too.