Avoiding bad habits while static free mounting

I’m a newbie starting to learn on a 24"

I’m doing assisted free-mounting, and can pretty reliably get up on the uni and get a 1/2 revolution in before jumping off. Starting to work on 1 1/2 revolutions before bailing. So the muscle memory is about to get “burned-in”.

A couple of questions–

1. I’ve been mounting without holding the seat-- both hands out for balance before I jump on. I can do this just fine as the uni is a 24". But the uni I really want is a 29", and I’m unsure if I can do that with that size. Should I start to practice holding on to the seat with 1 hand while mounting?

2. I have not been looking at the front pedal when mounting. I’m getting a lot of bad foot placements-- maybe 1 out of 5 is where I want it. Should I be looking at the front pedal on the mount, then look up? Or keep looking forward and work it out by feel?

Here’s my current state:

Thanks
Chief

A couple of thoughts. I think you might be best off learning the roll back mount. You’ll also learn to idle quicker too, as a secondary benefit.

If you are going to learn to static mount, you’ll need to put less pressure in the first pedal. I would recommend you have your pedals in the 8-9 and 2-3 clock position.

I still have my hands out to mount, this is after riding for over 2 years.

For foot placement, I look at where I put my second foot. I tend to wear soft soled shoes (or, at least, not very hard soled ones), so I can feel the pedals.

Foot placement on the pedals improves over time so I wouldn’t stress about yours as yet.

Mounting a 29" is similar to a 24. Just higher. :slight_smile:

I watched your video. I am confused why, after a couple good starts, you did not continue riding forward past the 1/2 or 1 1/2 revolutions. Was it your plan to only ride 1/2 or 1 1/2 revolutions? You seemed ready for longer distances.