Are the lower priced Torker's any good?

Hello.

Are the Torker LX CX and AX I see on ebay for around 60 dollars any good for beginning? I want to get into street and casual off road before investing in a heavy duty uni.

Thanks,
John.

Both the AX and LX are great unicycles for the money, however I wouldn’t recommend the CX.

I have a CX that I’ve been riding for two years (I’ve never ridden anything else so I can’t really compare it fairly) and it held up fine for basic transportation, but I started getting serious a few months ago with some basic street and I’m on my third set of cranks since then. The stock seat is horrendusly uncomfortable for long rides but I picked up a KH saddle and haven’t looked back.

An AX for $60?
Are you sure?

Yeah, a little more than $60, hehe :slight_smile: I was looking at some of the low-end CX.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=009&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&viewitem=&item=190119635883&rd=1&rd=1

I think this is going to be my first unicycle. What do you think?

Ok… an LX at $80 dollars I can perhaps understand. :slight_smile:

I just bought one through my local LBS to use as a loaner uni (fortunately my older son adopted it immediately) so I’ll probably be in the market for another one several months down the road. Anyway the LX I purchased cost me $120 not including tax.

Your $80 one on ebay with its $25 shipping and handling brings you to $105 dollars.

Yet for $15 more I got the bike shop to cut the post. And also will be able to take it back there for maintenance. I asked all the questions I wanted. Was show a new custom made impossible wheel built there, a KH uni etc etc… I also was able to meet SEVERAL area unicyclists in the shop. I look forward to rides that are going to be coordinated through the shop. I don’t know what unicycle.com charges for the LX but I think buying from your LBS makes more sense. I might pay a couple of dollars more for what I buy but in the end I get so much more for my buck.