Alps Tour Training

Yesterday was the official start of training for the Alps Tour. I won’t be able to go with them to Switzerland, but I thought it would be cool to try to train with the riders (remotely speaking, that is). Maybe even do a psuedo-tour here when the time comes.

So I’ve been working up to be able to start training in April. I’ve been recovering from a knee injury (wheel-walking crash) last year, so had to take a lot of time off. Finally I was able to begin in February. I wasn’t ready to uni, and Connecticut was covered in ice and snow, so I’ve been riding the safety unicycle (read: bike;) ) for a couple of months now, increasing my mileage by about 10% each week. Having all-weather clothing and headlights has helped a lot with the short days. A couple of weeks ago I started blending in some real riding on 29er and 36er. I need to stay away from wheel-walking for a while more, but distance riding seems to be ok.

Yesterday kinda snuck up on me, but I was able to put in about 9 occasionally hilly miles, which fitness-wise was probably a little less rigorous than the bicycle miles. There is a challenging long, roughly-paved hill which I had to walk (still haven’t made the whole thing), but overall it went well. I did 3 of the 6 on the 29er. It will take a while to get the unis dialed-in. The air saddle on my 36" is one of my first and is giving me fits, so I’ll have to replace that. I’ll have to trade the 29er pedals for some with better grip in the rain, and add a cyclometer to the 29er too.

I’m hoping to continue with the training, at +50% if possible (since I got a head start), but at Andy’s posted rate if I can’t sustain the +50%. The hardest thing for me may be the elevation gain, because there aren’t any mountains nearby (just a fairly shallow river valley).

Anyone want to (remotely) join me? It’s quite a commitment, but hopefully will produce some great unicycling and fitness gains.