Alas, but some stupid newbie questions...

Hi All,

I have a couple questions that I know are pretty newbie, but nonetheless, I have no idea.

1. Does anyone know any good web pages for a total newb? I’m looking for places that break down the parts of a unicycle, and gives opinions on brands corresponding to those parts. Like, “who makes good cranks, and what to look for in good cranks.” Things like that.

2. “Once you can travel 30 feet, you can go on indefinately.” Is this true? I’m going about 70 ft or so, but I still fall off; I feel like I’m not in control, really, and am just basically continously “saving” myself from falling; it’s a really erratic, uncontrolled motion.

My question is, what should I do about it? Common sense says to keep practicing, but I’m afraid that maybe one of the things screwing me up is some bad habit, and I can’t help but fear that one day I’ll get to the point where I’m okay but am limited from some poor habit I’ve carried for years that I never corrected, and eventually could no longer correct. Something similar happened with playing guitar, and to this day I can play and transition from every chord perfectly except a D and Dm.

1. Yes, I’ve made my first mistake and bought my first unicycle from the local bike shop. Sure enough, I looked at that Bedford versus “cheapie” comparison pic, and my uni suffers from every “no frills” malady there was. I figure at this point, I might as well use it as the learner it is, and not buy a decent uni until I can ride it reliably without destroying it.

That said, I’m trying to figure out what would be a good next uni. I would definately use it for commuting in some way, but I would still want to do some Trials stuff on it. Does a 24" trials uni compromise too much? Should I just get a 20" Trials uni and use my cheapo 24" for commuting?