Aching tail bone

I’ve been unicycling for about 3 1/2 months now, and now whenever I unicycle my tail bone (or whatever it’s called) aches after riding for 1/2 a mile. Is this a regular stage like aching legs when I started unicycling? Or could it me that my unicycle is too short for me?

Tbis is definitely something I have never experienced!

A tail bone ache could be related to a very hard seat!

It could be that your seat does not have enough or the right kind of padding. Unfortunately, this is just a guess, since I have never heard of this happening.

Re: Aching tail bone

I think the official name is “coccyx”.

Have you ever broken your tail bone? Memphis Mud broke his a couple years ago and still has problems. Maybe he will see your topic and provide you some information.

I don’t think an aching tail bone is a standard learning condition.

Yeah, I’ve never broken any bone, so that wouldn’t be the problem. My seat is whatever comes standard on my old 20 inch Schwinn.

I would also like to know how to tell how tall a unicycle should be. I know that on bikes you want your leg slightly bent when the crank arm is down. Is this also true on unicycles?

Re: Aching tail bone

On Mon, 1 Nov 2004 19:56:17 -0600, “LegoBoy” wrote:

>I would also like to know how to tell how tall a unicycle should be. I
>know that on bikes you want your leg slightly bent when the crank arm is
>down. Is this also true on unicycles?

Yes, that’s basically it. This is what “Learning to Unicycle” says:

Seat Height - As a rough guide, with your heel on the pedal which is
all the way down in the 6 o’clock position, your leg should be
reasonably extended but not overstretched. (This is not the foot
position for riding, see next page.) Seat height is quite a
subjective thing so just experiment for yourself and see what you
prefer.

Note that this is for learning. If you would branch out into MUni of
trials, the best seat height is a lot lower.

Klaas Bil - Newsgroup Addict