accident liability...Help!

I’ve just spoken with the woman who knocked me off my coker on Sunday(see thread:3 cheers for Kris Holm and Bell helmets). She wants me to pay for the damage to her car. She’s had a quote for £50 for her windshield and around £350 for damage to the body work. She said she didn’t want to do it through her insurance company as she would lose her no claims bonus. Which is understandable.

I suggested that I could pay half and she pay the other half which I think is more than fair since it was me who came out with the injuries. And having looked again today at where it happened and at the sort of speeds people were doing there in their cars compared to the speed she was going. I don’t think I was to blame for the accident.

I have no experience in these matters an am not insured in any way for what happened. and am currently rather skinty poo having lost my job last week and am only working part time at the moment. I certainly can’t afford to pay £400 for an accident I don’t believe was my fault.

If I dispute that I have to pay the full amount what would happen next? Should I talk to the police and find out what she said to them? She said she’d spoken to the police and that it hasn’t been recorded as an incident and wouldn’t be if we were able to sort it out between ourselves.

I think what’s happened is she’s spoken to her husband who’s assumed tha because I was on a unicycle I wouldn’t have been in control, or that roads aren’t the place for unicycles and that I was liable for the accident.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

Kit

i think it’s up to you to determine whose fault it was
if you were in control and following all the laws, then it would be good to bring it to the police
otherwise, it would be good to settle it between yourselves
I think a unicyclist counts as a pedestrian, so it could be all her fault
it would be best to talk w/ a lawyer

If it’s not your fault, you’re not liable for any of the cost.