a unicycle for a small child?

The cast on my grandson’s broken arm (swing set accident. He was trying to see how far he could jump.) should be ready to come off by the time he turns 4 years old in a few weeks.
He’s been riding a bicycle for just about a year. He can ride no handed, ride with his feet on the seat, and just recently started popping wheelies.

I’m thinking about getting him a unicycle this coming holiday season.
Do they make solidly constructed unicycles that would fit a rather smallish four year old (12 inch?)?

Is it something his parents could commonly find in the Denver area where they live or would I probably have to order on line?

I rode a unicycle, self taught, as a child back in the 60s but I can understand the benefits of some sort of instruction for the child or at least seeing other unicyclists. Is there a school for learning how to ride or unicycle social clubs in the greater Denver Colorado area that I can refer his parents to?

Thanks,
Penel

Penel,

These are the 2 most obvious good sources on-line:

http://www.unicycle.com/Welcome.asp

http://www.seriousjuggling.com/unicycles.htm

You won’t find anything that small at a bike shop. The smallest you would find would be a 16 inch wheel. That would probably be too big. Call these 2 places and tell them what the kid’s inseam measurement is. Not measured for pants, but measured from crotch to floor with shoes on. That’s the bottom line for fitting a person to a unicycle.

Good Luck!

My daughter started to unicycle as a 6 year old. She rode a 16" jugglebug. It’s actually a nice little uni. My guess is that a 4 year old would need to go all the way down to a 12", but, who knows?

We live southwest of Denver. If you want him to try out the 16", I’m sure we can work something out.

There is a pretty active unicycling club in Boulder, and a bunch of us in Conifer who ride, but the Conifer group isn’t organized in any way…

Good luck!