A good day's riding (and then a bit more)

Saturday turned into a day of trying to keep up with the demands of the expanded unicycle fleet to come out of the garage and be ridden once in a while.

It started with my first trip to Seaton for a ride with Ben for a while; I haven’t ridden the trials uni since BUC and Ben said he was “a little rough” from the night before so we weren’t expecting much in terms of new stuff but it turned into a pretty interesting session around the sea front.

The best bit for me was a wall we hadn’t been to before. It was about a foot wide, but was curved into a peak rather than flat at the top, roughly made and crumbling in places. It was also about a metre away from a large drop into the river, but hey…

Riding along that took many attempts… it was like an “off-road” skinny; a combined challenge of a bumpy, winding surface as well as a narrow one. I’m by no means an expert rider of skinnies but generally I find that getting on and getting going is the hardest part; with this one being so windy and bumpy getting on was only half the battle.

Comment of the Insert Time Period Here: after doing a demonstratory lap of various rocks and steps for some people waiting for a bus, and somehow not falling in a heap, I got a “you were great” for my efforts. I think it’s the hardcore, manly aura from my legoman t-shirt that does it.

On getting home and realising I was still uninjured and not yet suffering from total exhaustion I set off to my local trails with the muni and 29er in tow for some “research”.

My favourite loop is 1.8 miles long according to the map and includes a good variety of terrain from smooth, wide trails to stuff I have never successfully ridden on the muni, and I was intrigued as to how the 29er would compare with the muni. The muni lap was first, taking 16 minutes 57 seconds; then after a short break the 29er lap, taking 16 minutes 42 seconds.