a beginner here...

I’m still trying to get a unicycle that’s relatively cheap. I was interested in a used one on ebay, but bidding after bidding, the price for that unicycle now has become so high I wonder if I might as well get a new one.

So. What do you guys think of the following?

http://www.amazon.com/Sun-20-Steel-Chrome-Unicycle/dp/B00065C1PQ/ref=pd_sim_dbs_sg_3/103-5794163-8943027?ie=UTF8&qid=1178946005&sr=8-1

Any other inputs would also be appreciated. Thanks. :slight_smile:

They seem OK to start

How much do you weigh, will you grow more ? If you can afford it consider getting a KH. Lighter and stronger. Save money by not needing to replace it later.http://aebike.com/page.cfm?PageID=30&action=details&sku=UN2024
If you are light, you can get away with a cheapy a bit longer.
Consider getting a 24 ". The are better then 20’s for exploring the neighborhood. Less tedious to pedal around, and just as easy to learn on, unless you are very small.

You will find that most people will answer this question by recommending what they have themselves.

A KH is a high spec and fairly expensive unicycle. It would be great to own and ride, but may not be the best choice for a complete beginner. You wouldn’t buy a Stradivarius for your first violin - when you might soon find find that you would prefer a cello.

If you look at unicycle dot com, you will find beginnner’s unis, intermediate, and top quality ones. You won’t get a bad one, even if you go for the bottom end. If you buy from a local bike shop you could get a good one or something really awful.

It is generally recognised that a 20 is the easiest to learn on. However, plenty of people have learned on 24s or bigger. Someone in this forum even learned on a Coker (36 inch wheel).