661 4x4 pad sizing? They seem long.

I am new to muni and just got my first set of pads.
I got the 661 4x4s in size medium. I am a 5’3" female rider who is petite. I would normally order smalls in everything and did, except for the shin/knee pads. I read that people recommened that they hit the top of your shoe/foot to prevent them from riding down as you pedal. So I measured and came up with a length that indicated size medium.

Well, they definately hit the top of my foot. They seem long in a straight stance but fine when I bend my leg. Falling from standing onto my bent knees, they seem to fit perfect. Is this normal? I don’t know normal for pads, they seem so big!

They fit fine around my legs, straps fully tighten okay.

The pads can be a bit bulky. It sounds like the articulated section is in the right spot which is important and having the area above your knee cap covered is good too. Have you tried riding with them?

I leave the tops of mine fairly loose so I don’t get chaffing around the knee when riding, the middle and lower straps are tight and that is enough to keep the pads from moving around.

Yes, my next pair of KH Percussion leg armor will be large even though my shins are of medium length because I do want them hitting the top of my shoes to keep them high enough to cover my knees in a fall. Check my albums for POC pads which are the ultimate in comfort only lacking in rear calf coverage.

Thanks guys!

I suppose it just takes getting used to. I rode a bit with them today and I do think they are the correct length for pedaling and having pads in the right place for falling, they adjust tight enough as well. The bulk sucks though. I guess for learning and falling, they will be great! I just can’t imagine them necessary once I get better, I mean all I hear is that unicycling is actually safer than biking or skating. Well, I have biked my whole life and am a decent skater. I’ve never used pads for either sport.
Lucky? Maybe.