6' Unicycle buying advice

I have a little over $200.00 and I want to buy a 6’ unicycle. The 6’ looks like alot more fun than a 5’.

I was planning to buy the savage with a seat upgrade but now unicycle.com does not sell it.
Why is this?

Is the Torker 5’ any good for a cheap giraffe?
I will be riding my new giraffe alot but I will try to be kind to it.

What is the best I can get in a giraffe for $215?

Am I right to shoot for the savage 6’?

The Savage 6’ has a 25.4 seatpost and a seat that is total crap!
The Savage 5’ has a 22.0 seatpost and, depending on wether or not you get any upgrades, a decent seat.

I learned to unicycle on a savage 5’. it held up well until i started learning the running mount (well over a year, for 4 hours a day), then I twisted the frame.

I own a savage 6’ as well. The original 5 frame has gone to the great re-cyclery in the sky. I don’t handle the 6 as well as a 5. It feels more sluggish and it’s definetley harder for me to feel the ground while riding.

I think also, that body size might have a little to do with my difficulty. I am only about 5’3" (or 4" on a tall day) and so my 6’ towers over me by 9 inches. Despite the fact that some people here believe that a 6’ is more impressive, I think that impressiveness has a lot more to do with riding style than height off the ground.

A giraffe is kind of limited due to the space required to mount it, the extra mass, and the fact that you are elevated off the ground a bit more than usual.

So. In response to your original question, yes, a Torker 5 is a good buy for a beginner. And if you totally trash it while you’re learning, no big deal, because if you like riding on a giraffe enough to continue, you’ll want to buy a nicer one anyway (or start upgrading components)

And if you really want a 6’, I’ve got one that has 1 busted spoke in the wheelset due to a bad weld, and the top tube has been shortened about 3" but otherwise is a great unicycle to learn on. If you’re interested, PM me.