36ers Wide or narrow hubs

This has been done before but I would love some input from you EXPERTS.
I started on a Coker Big One with a narrow hub years ago. I wrecked the wheel and upgraded to a wide hub, Hunter frame etc because they are stronger and I liked them.
Now all 36"ers have wider hubs, the UDC 36" Machine, Nimbus and Dave Stockton wheels, were are you Dave?
NOW, I still feel that I could ride uphills and long rides better on the old Coker with a narrow hub due to less Q factor and more energy being delivered to going forward not sideways.
SO, if I have an Aifoil rim built on a KH ISIS hub, I reckon it would overcome the weakness of the Coker wheel and deliver better power.
Is the strength of the wide hub only required for 36" Muniing, jumping or trials? For touring, do we need that much strength?
I look forward to your input.
Cheers
Mal
www.unicycle.au.com

So nothing stops you from having narrow hub :slight_smile: (see below…)

Well, in fact I’m quite new to the 36" world, but that’s what I think:
Wide hubs are not used in 36ers due to their strength, but just because
36" wheel is darn big :slight_smile: and darn big wheels built on narrow hubs
are quite flexible sideways.
(BrianMacKenzie had a nice movie that showed how spectacular such flex can be :slight_smile:
So wide hubs are used to make wheels more rigid especially when hopping,
riding over stuff (logs, curbs, etc) and turning.

Now, when some of new 36" rims have 48 spokes like the new Coker and the new Qu-ax, there is much less need for wide hubs I suppose.

I am not urguing or wondering about that wider hubs are stonger or stiffer, I am sure they are (BTW one of my wide hubs deflects big time on an idle freemount).
If the main aim is to go forward like touring, is the extra strength needed as a trade off of energy…to go forward. Forget jumping, muniing etc.

48 spokes v’s 36

I guess we have to wait. Coker likes making us wait

Hi Mal,