26" vs 27.5" muni

I want to buy a muni as my second unicycle, my first one being a 20" that I bought to just get familiar with the basics.

What would be the overall best muni for me, 26" or 27.5"?
How do you like these sizes yourself?

To my understanding the 26" are more and more being phased out and being replaced by 27.5".

I recently got a QU-AX 27.5" and like it a lot.
But I’m a very “young” unicyclist so I really cannot compare sizes.

When I got my Muni, 26 was the popular size. I also agree that 27.5 is slowly taking over as the popular Muni size. I went with the 26, now I wish I got the 27.5 for a little more speed.

You are in luck!

I’m new to the sport only 2 months. I learned on a Club 20 with 114 cranks then after being good enough to ride around I borrowed a friends Nimbus 26 with 165 cranks. I was able to ride the 26 fine but it’s a “Tank”. 26 had a heavy knobby tire but fun. I too wondered about 26 vs 27 but in the end bought the Oracle 27.5 150 cranks (stock) and really enjoy it. The tire that came on 27.5 rolled so much smoother I was able to turn and keep it straight better then the more agressive on on the 26.
By the way the 27.5 is bigger but not by much. When I but the two next to each other the tire was only an 1 taller. I’m 58 years old 5’9" 155 lbs and only been riding a short time. No real off road use yet other then riding in grass.

You will get used to the "heavy’’ tire on the 26 pretty quickly.

By the way I got the 27.5 because I plan on doing a lot of street riding and “Mild” off roading like dirt roads and easy trails. It could be the 26 is better for more wild off roading and tighter turns??? Hopefully someone with that kind of expereince will chime in. If that’s the kind of riding you want to do.

Josh at unicycle.com was telling me if I went with the 26" that I could use the “Halo Twin Rail” tire they sell for the kind of riding I was thinking of doing.