24 inch unicycle

Want a 24 inch unicycle because i am just beginning but also want to ride around.
Looking around the $100-$150 price range.

You can get a club 24in unicycle on unicycle.com for $140.

That’ll do the trick if you’re only gonna ride around. It’s got a cruiser feel to it, but not super fast.

You can get a club 24in on unicycle.com for $140. Only thing is you have to pay shipping on orders under $300. Maybe look at bike shops, or craigslist?

That’ll do the trick if you just wanna ride around town for now. Good luck! :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks, I actually just bought the Torker CX from eBay for around $110. Should I consider buying 125mm cranks because the unicycle comes with 150mm ones, or will it not make a significant difference?

If you start swapping parts out right away the economy of your purchase will quickly go away. 150s are probably fine for learning, but as you get more relaxed you will probably want shorter cranks, or a bigger wheel (for getting around). I think 125s may still be a bit on the long side for a 24" cruiser. Maybe 114s, or even 100s.

Agree with jtrops in principle, but in the case of my 24" Sun with 150 mm cranks it was always miserable to ride like that. It was tiring and hard keep a straight line because of the extra unneeded motion. I switched over to 125 mm cranks because I had some and it was a very significant difference. A huge improvement, I thought. Recommend.

I guess another “principled” response. My thoughts are that the 150’s are good for getting the basics down, and that shorter cranks are probably in order; but, maybe even shorter than 125’s would be better. My only reservation is that I wouldn’t put someone on 100’s to get the basics down. I think it would make it much more difficult to relax.

I don’t know why a 24" uni would come with anything longer than 125’s anyway (unless its a MUni). That seems like the sweet spot for stock cranks on a uni that size.