20" crank length ?

I’m about to resume learning to uni after a couple of weeks lay off, having only done a couple of hours.

I have a Nimbus II 20" which came with 114mm cranks.
Is this a bit short for learning on, as others seem to have longer cranks?

What is a good length for a total beginner, and what effect do shorter or longer cranks have on the learning process ?

I should say that I have posted this question in an earlier post, but having done a couple of hours of practice, I wanted to ask again as I am not making great progress and wonder if longer cranks might give me more control ? :thinking:

It’s definitely on the short side. Will it make learning harder? Possibly, but probably not too much harder. You could always pick up a pair of 125’s, that seems to me to be a better size for all around use. I think the 114 is more of a freestyle size.

Seems like your only a few hours into learning, it took me 30+ hours to get it, but I was a bit older (almost 40). Seems to take longer the older you get.

Crank length is a very debatable subject as it differs from each rider.

Usually, the shorter the crank, the more stable it is when spinning fast but it make starting a bit harder (as you have to push more as the lever is short).

On the other hand, longer cranks means easier start-up (as you had a bigger lever) but you risk more the unicycle bite on a small wheel (when the pedal hit your chin bone).

At your level, it won’t matter much as you need to practice again and again. And to feel a real difference on a 20 inches wheel when changing the cranks, you will have to get really longer ones or shorter ones. One size up or down won’t be as noticeable as on a bigger wheel.

The best would be to have a fellow rider in your area that can lend you different size of cranks or just enable you to experience how it feels on another configuration.