2 questions from a newb

I’m a newb, I don’t know anything about unicycles. I don’t even have one but I have two questions:

1. Which is worse - MUni on the road or a touring/road uni off road (by off road I mean walking paths in the forest not rocky mountains)?
  2. Is unicycle a considerable mean of transport? Can it replace walking/bicycle?

Thank you.

1road tires on bike paths work fine.
2 Yes and no depending on size most unicycles replace walking unless you have a 12 or 16 inch. Your not going to be able to go bike speeds unless you get a big wheel or a GUni.

Narrow street tires will sink into soft ground, limiting where you would want to go offroad. Wide knobbies rumble a bit and wear a bit faster, but ride fine everywhere. They are pumped up soft and absorb bad pavement well.
Anything 24 and larger is faster-easier then walking. A 36 rules the road. 2-3 months after I learned to ride, I could ride 15 miles in an afternoon with little effort. So, at least here, where it isn’t to hilly, getting a 36 to commute 10 miles or so is very practical. It’s a lot easier to carry stuff on a bike, but a 36 is about 2/3’s as fast, for me, as a bike.

1. It depends. In general, the MUni is safer on-road. Nothing will break, you’ll just get premature tire wear. If your touring uni is really light and spindly, you’ll be putting it at risk on dirt. Also the ride will be harsh and challenging.

2. Yes. Against walking, the major downside is you have to store it somewhere when you get where you’re going, and they aren’t allowed in most places where bikes aren’t. Against bikes a unicycle is always going to be slower, but you can bring it on trains and busses where you often can’t bring a bike. Plus it’s much easier to fit in the car!

Thanks people for answering.

:smiley: Also welcome to the forums commodore. :smiley:

i also have a noob question and figured i’d ask it in here as opposed to making a whole new thread

what is q-factor