Unicyclist Community

Go Back   Unicyclist Community > Unicycling Discussion > General Unicycling Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2019-02-18, 01:47 AM   #1
vanman

How to improve at muni?

I picked up unicycling a year and a half ago, but I only started serious trail riding about 6 months ago when I moved to Portland, OR. A lot of great trails around here!

Riding a wide variety of trails has helped me improve a lot. Some days I will ride easier trails so I can get more miles in, do most of the uphills, and get into a better flow. Other days I will ride trails that are outside my comfort zone where a lot of sections take me multiple attempts.

Wondering what else people recommend for improving muni skills?

I started practicing hopping in place, bunny hopping, and riding one footed. I do these in my driveway after work during the work week. Any other skills that I am missing?
vanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2019-02-18, 02:44 AM   #2
Canoeheadted
Unicyclist

I'm a fan of continuous riding.

If I don't make a section I will just re-mount and continue and hopefully I can sweep it next time I ride that section/trail.
I find this keeps my heart rate up, builds my stamina, and gives me a kick in the ass to do better next time.
Some trails have taken me years to be able to ride the whole trail without dismounting. Some I still haven't got yet.

I would also ride any conditions that are presented to you.
If you can learn to ride in un-favourable conditions then everything else becomes easier.

Lastly, I'm a preacher for symmetry or being ambidextrous.
Learn to do everything on both sides and you will be able to handle all obstacles from any approach.
Your trail and conditions change... why wouldn't your riding?
Canoeheadted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2019-02-18, 04:05 AM   #3
elpuebloUNIdo
Viva la revolucion!

How to improve at muni