Unicyclist Community

Go Back   Unicyclist Community > Unicycling Discussion > General Unicycling Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2011-07-22, 02:23 AM   #1
GregoryFire
Unicyclist

Cheap ebay unicycle?

I want to buy a unicycle and learn how to ride it, but I'm not sure which kind I should buy. Right now I can afford a cheap unicycle from ebay, which is about $60. My question is: Is that a good enough unicycle for learning on? I don't want it to break while I'm still learning and have to buy a new one. I've never owned a unicycle before, so I'm not sure if it would break just from falling down while I learn to ride.

Also, are the any websites that sell used unicycles? I've already checked Craigslist, and nobody's selling them near me.
GregoryFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-07-22, 02:33 AM   #2
harper
768 - It's in your DNA

Can you provide a link to the eBay advertisement?

Destroying the climate by shutting down nuclear power plants, one by one, since 1979.

Change is good. Bills are better.
harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-07-22, 02:54 AM   #3
GregoryFire
Unicyclist

Yea, sorry I forgot that.

http://cgi.ebay.com/New-BLUE-24-UNIC...#ht_3119wt_956
Old 2011-07-22, 03:04 AM   #4
harper
768 - It's in your DNA

The unicycle shown in the photo is definitely not a 24". It looks more like a 16" which is too small for an adult to learn on. The unicycle shown has an OK saddle but not the best. It would take substantial abuse falling and hitting the hard plastic handle in front. It also has main cap bearings which is a plus. I would want to know if the seller is selling a 24" unicycle or the one pictured. A 24" unicycle of the same make would be OK to learn on. So would a 20".